Around the first month, the Land O’ Sky Chapter sends a newsletter to our members and friends to let them know what’s going on in the chapter and with other conservation projects in the area and across the state.  We hope you’re already a member of our mailing list, but if not you can subscribe using the form at the bottom of this page.

The state council of North Carolina also sends out monthly emails and a free quarterly feature magazine, “The Drift,” loaded with news, opinion, how-to’s, trip reports and lots of other content of interest to the conservation and fly angling community.  In the case of our chapter, the council, and TU national, your personal information is never shared with other organizations or individuals for any purpose.

A Brief History of Trout in Western North Carolina
A Brief History of Trout in Western North Carolina

 It’s curious how trout as a gamefish species are one of the most popular for anglers to target, and yet at the same time are incredibly misunderstood. This is especially true when it comes to the history of trout fishing in Western North Carolina, which is as complex...

read more
Twenty Mile Creek
Twenty Mile Creek

Folks, we took 'our' shocker out for a live run on Twenty Mile Creek this week and it performed very well. I had the young man who used it pose for the attached pictures. He is from eastern NC and a 'seasonal intern' with NPS named Darian "Country" Walker. Matt and...

read more

There is in the very haunts of the brook trout a suggestion of where it gets its vigor and wariness: the cold, clear streams where the water is pure; brooks that wind in and out over rocky and pebbly beds, here shaded by trees and there dashing through the open–it makes us feel vigorous even to think of such streams.

Handbook of Nature Study by Anna Botsford Comstock, 1911.

Officers & Board Members

  • Neal Labrie, President
  • Cliff Albertson, Treasurer
  • John Miko, Past President
  • Jay Hawthorne, Conservation Chair
  • Andrew Kabel, TIC coordinator
  • David Vigue, Board Member
  • Jamey Grant, Board Member
  • Jeffrey Skolnick- Secretary